Tagged by Qatar Cat

Posted: February 8, 2006 in من هنا و هناك

7 things to do before I die:

1- Go to Hajj
2- Write a book
3- meet HM Sultan Qaboos
4- Do something that would make people remmber me, and pray for me ..
5- Do Sadaqa Jariya (its a donation that would last a live time and you get the reward for it as long as people are benefiting from it)
6- Have kids
7- Travel the world.

7 things I can’t do:

1- Break rules (I feel guilty so easily)
2- Criticise (I am bad at it, and I hate that!)
3- Loose weight
4- Stop thinking
5- be away from the net.
6- eat everything, I am very picky
7- finish this list 🙂

7 things I always say:
1- Inshallah (by gods will, I say it continiously)
2- Alsalam Alykom ( peace be one you)
3- MashaAlla (Glory be to Allah)
4- Ya3ni (it means, I say it even when I speak english)
5-Exactly!!
6- Well
7-Excellent

7 books I have loved:
1- Dairies of an Arabian Princess (Omani Princess Salma bint Said who was in Zanzibar and ran away with a German Soldier. Lovely book describes the life in Zanzibar on those days)

2- Tell me why (and the series, it was very informative)

3- Shubuhat 7awl Al-Islam, Misconceptions about Islam

4- Shaqat Al-Huriya ( Freedom Apartment, Novel by Ghazi Al-Qusaibi)

5- Recently, Banat Al-Riyadh

6- Juro7 Al-Thakira (Memories wound, novel by Turky Al-Hamed)

7- Ree7 Iljana (Heaven’s wind, novel by Turky Al-Hamed)

7 movies I love to watch over and over:
1- Ever After
2- Sound of Music
Cant think of other’s sorry 😦

7 things I get attracted to:
1- New Phones
2- Abbayas (Black Robe women wear, I love to see the new styles)
3- Choclates
4- Oman!
5- The song playing in the background of this blog!
6- Laban (Youghurt Drink)
7- Arabic Poems

7 people I want to tag:
1- Namika
2- Jeff (you can answer it in a comment here 🙂 )
3- Raed
4- Farah (if she read this)
5- Noor
6- Amo
7 – who reads my blog 🙂

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    Oh, no! This is going to be REALLY hard. But what can I do? A Commoner has to obey a Princess, right?

    Okay:

    7 things to do before I die:

    1. Become really close to God.
    2. See my son Billy happy and grown.
    3. Finish my book.
    4. Learn another language (at least Latin) really, really well. (I’m jealous of all you folks who are fluent in English!)
    5. Spend one day, just one, that makes me feel that I did what I was supposed to do from start to finish.
    6. Learn to dance well.
    7. Visit Oman and meet some nice Omanis! 😉

    7 things I can’t do:

    1. Stop being selfish.
    2. Stop procrastinating.
    3. Speak a foreign language.
    4. Play an instrument.
    5. Write music.
    6. Draw well (like my son does)
    7. Watch movies without complaining.

    7 things I always say:

    1. It depends.
    2. I don’t know.
    3. I cooked it. I’ll eat it.
    4. There are two sides to every story.
    5. Let me sleep five more minutes!
    6. Ssssh! Be quiet…
    7. Don’t forget to say Thank You to God.

    7 books I have loved:

    1. The Lord of the Rings
    2. The Violent Bear it Away
    3. The Bible
    4. Pride and Prejudice
    5. Paradise Lost
    6. Run with the Horseman
    7. But Look the Morn (by my grandfather.)

    7 movies I love to watch over and over:

    This I just can’t do. I don’t like movies too much (probably only three people in the world feel like me! ;-D ) and I never watch them over and over. I think I watched “Brazil” three times. I watched “The Passion of the Christ” twice.

    7 things I get attracted to:

    1. Nice blogs like this one! (But there aren’t very many…)
    2. The internet in general.
    3. Children.
    4. Animals.
    5. Classical music.
    6. A good story.
    7. Tasty food.

    7 people I want to tag:

    I can’t tag anybody, I’m not a blogger!

    ****

  2. Jeff says:

    Some responses to your answers:

    “4- Do something that would make people remmber me, and pray for me”

    People already remember you and pray for you, I know. And one day, I think you will be surprised to find out how many! Most people are better loved than they think. You are SURELY one of them! [Also, see the next answer…]

    “6- Have kids”

    I am surprised. You said something about your kids suffering from your temper. I thought you had kids already. If you don’t, HAVE THEM. They will take everything out of you, but if you don’t have them, you will be SO SORRY. And you never know when something might happen to stop you. Don’t be stupid like Americans and Europeans. Be smart like Arabs! 🙂 Also, kids will help you with number 4 above!

    “2- Sound of Music”

    I like that one, too! Sometime, let’s watch it together. We’ll choose a time and sit down and watch it at the same time on different sides of the world. And then, we’ll talk about it!

    “7- Arabic Poems”

    Now, I get attracted to them, too! But sadly my first translator, Mr. Babbling Fish, doesn’t understand them very well… 😦

  3. Arabian Princess says:

    Let us first start with your list:

    “2. See my son Billy happy and grown.”
    how old is he now? and Inshallah (by Allah’s will) you would see him and be proud of him.

    “7. Visit Oman and meet some nice Omanis! ;-)”

    Come, Oman is welcoming you 🙂

    “1. Stop being selfish.”

    I dont think you are, you are such a nice person

    “5. Let me sleep five more minutes!”

    hehehe thats same with me, and the 5 min. turns to be half an hour!

    “7. Watch movies without complaining.”

    You usually complain about what?

  4. Arabian Princess says:

    “People already remember you and pray for you, I know. And one day, I think you will be surprised to find out how many! Most people are better loved than they think. You are SURELY one of them! [Also, see the next answer…]”

    My intention when answering this, is that I wanted to do something remarkable in this world.. something that would put my name in my history but in a good way.

    If I didnt, people would remmber me the first week, then slowly they start getting busy and they would forget.

    “I am surprised. You said something about your kids suffering from your temper. I thought you had kids already.”

    I dont, well yah I said something about that but thats me imagining having kids :p

    “If you don’t, HAVE THEM. They will take everything out of you, but if you don’t have them, you will be SO SORRY”

    Yup I know, but at the end its all in God’s hands. 🙂

    “Don’t be stupid like Americans and Europeans. Be smart like Arabs! 🙂 !”

    loool this really made me laugh!! well my plan was to have lots of them .. 10,8 not less than 6. But time is ticking, I dont know really if my plan would work.
    But when I tell people of my plan, they think I am crazy! With today’s standered of living, its hard to bring 6 kids and provide them with all the necesseties until they graduate (and get married, since we will have to pay ALOT if they are boys)

    “I like that one, too! Sometime, let’s watch it together. We’ll choose a time and sit down and watch it at the same time on different sides of the world. And then, we’ll talk about it!”

    Lets!! but I have to get it first! I just love Sound of Music! I could wait to turn 16 just to sing: I am 16 going on 17 .. I loved it!! We would choose who is who in the family .. it was fun 🙂

    “Now, I get attracted to them, too! But sadly my first translator, Mr. Babbling Fish, doesn’t understand them very well… 😦 “

    hmm .. I am trying to translate but even when they are translated they are not as beatiful as they are in Arabic. I am not trying to brag or anything, but Arabic is a beatiful language. Its enough that we have the biggest number of words that means love 🙂 (I saw that on the back of a cereals box :p )

  5. Jeff says:

    “my son Billy happy and grown.’
    how old is he now?”

    He is ten.

    “Come, Oman is welcoming you :)”

    Yes, I know Omanis are so nice and hospitable. The problem is Time and Money. If you get the money, you don’t have the time. And if you make the time, then you don’t have the money.

    In America, we just have leaves on the trees, no money growing there. Isn’t that sad? Is it the same in Oman? If you have money trees there, please send me some seeds.

    “1. Stop being selfish.”

    I dont think you are, you are such a nice person”

    Thank you! But I’m trying and it’s fun to be nice here, you know, and you are seeing my best, not my worst. The test comes with responsibility and with people I DON’T like, not with people like you, that I DO like. Like with everybody, day-to-day life is where the bad stuff comes out, even with the people you love! Just ask my heroic wife.

    “”7. Watch movies without complaining.”

    You usually complain about what?”

    Everything! :-D. The acting bothers me; the directing is dumb; the story is boring, etc., etc. I am as finicky about movies as you are about food! And even if I manage to keep my mouth shut, I sigh, I roll my eyes, I move around in my seat. I feel sorry for people who watch a movie with me. I am so happy when I find a movie I like! But it’s so much suffering, I usually would rather not watch… I get TOO bored watching movies. Better to chew gum for three hours and look at my fingers. See, I told you I’m selfish! But I’m trying to learn better…

  6. Qatar Cat says:

    Arby,

    Wow how interesting! Great list! And I can see you are not really into movies :^)

    Jeff,

    “Don’t be stupid like Americans and Europeans”???

    Hmmm…

    I am European. I don’t have kids. I am not planning to have any. Am I stupid? Maybe. But it’s not up to YOU to judge, or call me thus, thanks.

    =^..^=

    And the above – that was me, sorry :^)

  7. Arabian Princess says:

    ‘In America, we just have leaves on the trees, no money growing there. Isn’t that sad? Is it the same in Oman? If you have money trees there, please send me some seeds.”

    Well no, we have oil wells on our backyard :p loool beleive it or not, an American who was visitng Oman once told me she actually thought that whats happening 🙂

    QC,

    Infact I am very intrested in movies, I love to watch them. I just dont remmber a movie that I would love to watch over and over again.

  8. Jeff says:

    “Jeff,

    “Don’t be stupid like Americans and Europeans”???

    Hmmm…

    I am European. I don’t have kids. I am not planning to have any. Am I stupid? Maybe. But it’s not up to YOU to judge, or call me thus, thanks.”

    Qatar Cat:

    I don’t judge you. Or individual cases, for the most part. You in particular may have excellent reasons for not planning to have children.

    BUT I can, I will, I should, I MUST judge the direction of my own country and culture. And my judgment–which seems obvious to me–is that we are DYING OUT because we don’t want to reproduce. And we don’t want to reproduce because we have become selfish and consumed by petty material concerns and a love of our own comfort and have forgotten the elementary concerns and loves of the human race.

    So, again, I don’t judge you at all, because I don’t know you. But I insist that my own culture is beyond Stupid on this matter; it’s Criminally Insane and in its terminal stages because of it. The Arabs, bless them, have not yet forgotten what it means to be human.

  9. Jeff says:

    “I am trying to translate but even when they are translated they are not as beatiful as they are in Arabic.”

    Yes, the Italians say: “Traduttore, Traditore!” That means: “A Translator is a Traitor!” (but it sounds much better in Italian.) You really can’t put things from one language into another one. You come out with something new that’s not as good. Or if it IS as good, it’s DIFFERENT.

    What really impresses me is how good your translations ARE, though. Even if you get little things wrong sometimes, your English is so good on a deep level. You can really EXPRESS yourself in it, you can dig down and search for what you need to say and find a way to say it. That’s mastery.

  10. Arabian Princess says:

    “What really impresses me is how good your translations ARE, though. Even if you get little things wrong sometimes, your English is so good on a deep level. You can really EXPRESS yourself in it, you can dig down and search for what you need to say and find a way to say it. That’s mastery.”

    “blush” well, I must say it has improved through the years. One of the ways that improved my english is The internet!
    But I cant express my self with spoken english though, I stutter alot especially if I speak with a native speaker.

    Feel free to point out any grammatical or language mistakes I make.(didnt mention spelling because I know you would get tired of pointing them out, they are many!)

  11. Jeff says:

    “Feel free to point out any grammatical or language mistakes”

    I tell you what’s better. If you have a QUESTION, I’ll be glad to answer it. If you find yourself thinking, “Is this better, or is that?” or “Is this right or not?”, ask away. That puts the ball in your court. I’m a natural schoolmaster where all this stuff is concerned and if I let myself go, I can pick, pick, pick all day long. Now I’m old and wise (ha, ha!) and I know to restrain myself and think about the central issues and not the little things that don’t matter much.

    So, honestly, the central issue is: You should be VERY proud of your English. It’s a complicated language–like Arabic is–and you can polish, polish, polish all your life. Even intelligent native speakers do that. I still worry about MY English all the time. (Seriously!) So you can polish it, but it’s already silver and it already shines! (Is your head getting bigger? I hope so!)

    **

    “I cant express my self with spoken english though, I stutter alot especially if I speak with a native speaker.”

    Ohhhh…I WISH I could hear it! I wish, I wish, I wish! 🙂
    I ride the bus and the train a lot and we have a lot of foreigners here in Washington. I like to talk to them and make them feel comfortable and then give them a chance to relax and practice their English. Self-consciousness is the biggest problem, just relax and talk and don’t worry about it! I bet after five minutes of talking, you’re okay, and if you were here for a couple of days just talking to us, you would see that you are better than you think and it would start to feel natural!

    Come visit and practice. Americans are friendly, despite what you might think… Though I admit we aren’t as nice and welcoming as Omanis. But you can’t expect to beat the best, right?

  12. Arabian Princess says:

    Thanks Jeff 🙂 I will use you as my english master and whenever I need to know any rule I would ask 🙂

    ‘ Self-consciousness is the biggest problem, just relax and talk and don’t worry about it!”

    I totally agree with you, I mean I could be talking good english but once I realise that the person speaks excellent english I start worrying about every word, the more I worry the more I speak broken english!

    “Come visit and practice. Americans are friendly, despite what you might think… Though I admit we aren’t as nice and welcoming as Omanis. But you can’t expect to beat the best, right?”

    Actually all I hear about Americans that they are kind and understanding people. I guess its because the mix of cultures. The more you have that, the more people respect each other’s diffrences.

    I went to America when I was 10 (that makes it 16 years back) and I remmber once while crossing states in an airplane, I was sitting next to this old lady, and she was so kind. I even slept on her lap, and she never complained!

  13. Jeff says:

    “I will use you as my english master and whenever I need to know any rule I would ask :)”

    Done!

    I’m sorry I missed you 16 years ago. You should have told me you were coming! I’ll bet you didn’t look too different from that picture in your blog!

  14. Jeff says:

    BTW, anybody who didn’t see the picture of the Arabian Princessling should DEFINITELY click here:

    http://static.flickr.com/6/6313480_915a715e71_m.jpg

  15. Jeff says:

    Really, that picture is so cute; a real classic. The left eyebrow covered and the right one lifted up like that–you should try that in a grown up picture! In fact, you should dress the same way every year on your birthday and get the same expression and keep a photo album for the rest of your life, one picture for each year. THEN, even if you don’t do something great, everybody will remember you for generations and you’ll get all the prayers you want. 😀

  16. Arabian Princess says:

    lOOl Jeff, I look so different from that photo .. I dont know if I can actually pose like I used to post :p

    here is 2 other baby pics:
    http://static.flickr.com/7/6313478_445d8d1441.jpg?v=0

    http://static.flickr.com/7/6313479_7ed8d6086d.jpg?v=0

  17. Jeff says:

    Those are COOL…especially the second one! 🙂

    Here’s a question that’s confusing my American mind:

    If you don’t have kids, WHO IS QUSAI? Aren’t you supposed to be his Mom?

  18. Arabian Princess says:

    loool Jeff, you are right .. I am supposed to be him mom .. well Qusai is the name me and my husband chose for our son when we got married. I like to use it .. even though I am not sure I would actually name my son Qusai 🙂

  19. Jeff says:

    Ah, HAH! NOW I understand. Well, you see, that’s another reason why I was confused because I thought you had kids.

    Well, I think your idea for many children is beautiful and good even if your friends make fun of you; you are smarter than they are. And I’ll pray that God makes you happy in the right way at the right time with the right number. I feel now that you are my friend and so I have this in my heart for you and AbuQusai and I will carry it there and put it in my kuffar prayers every night.

    I am going away for the weekend til Tuesday and I don’t know about my computer access; don’t feel that I forgot you if I can’t comment after tonight. If I can get online, of course I’ll come and see how you’re doing! I won’t say “Don’t be sad”; I’ll say, “Only be just sad enough to keep you happy!” And to write more nice poems. 😉

    Don’t forget the Sound of Music someday before too long, hmm?

  20. Arabian Princess says:

    Jeff,

    Thanks for your prayers 🙂

    Woow where are you going? anywhere intresting?
    please enjoy your time!

    I will be waiting for you to come back, and yes I wouldnt forget sound of music 🙂

  21. Jeff says:

    Interesting, yes! ;-D

    Elizabeth’s cousin and his wife are going away for the weekend and we are staying at their house to watch their six children. (Yes, some Americans have six children or even more.) So, I’ll be driving them in a bus…to ice skating…to Mass (not a place, remember? 😉 ) and so on.

    I think I’ll be sleeping well, unless they wake me up! It should be a challenging time. Maybe I’ll need a little prayer or two from you, hmm? 😉

  22. Jeff says:

    I forgot to mention that Michael, the father, is Arab on his father’s side. So, the kids are one quarter Arab!

  23. Arabian Princess says:

    Oh my god, if they are Arab kids then they would be noisy and active! thats a fact!!
    (no wounder they have 6 kids, the father is half arab :p ) j/k

  24. Jeff says:

    “(no wounder they have 6 kids, the father is half arab :p ) j/k”

    Ha, ha! No, they don’t even know they’re Arab! The great-grandfather came from Lebanon more than a hundred years ago. Even Michael’s father doesn’t know a word of Arabic.

    My wife asked Michael’s sister Liza after 9/11, “So, how does it feel, is it hard for you being an Arab-American”? Liza said, “Am I an Arab-American? Huh, I guess I am! I never thought of that…”

    Their name is Jabaley, because the family came from the mountains (jebal), but the only Arab heritage they still have is they like falafel and kibbe and other food like that.

    John Jabaley, Michael’s brother is an actor in Hollywood (small parts.) If you watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer, you might have seen him. You can see a link about him here:

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0002540/

    Michael, the dad, is in the Navy and he’s now working at the Pentagon. (Five minutes from my house; if I was home at the time on 9/11, I could have heard the plane going into the building very loudly!) He used to be a submarine commander and here’s the link for him. In the picture, he’s on the right; he doesn’t look half-Arab at all, does he?

    http://www.csp.navy.mil/news/cocmjrel.html

    Almost all our friends have lots of children. Our best friends other than the Jabaleys have six, five, five and four respectively. One family at our church has thirteen! None of them are Arab. I think it’s a Catholic thing, the Jabaleys are Catholic, too.

  25. Arabian Princess says:

    ok ok, yes I must say I remmber a friend of mine was tellnig me once that birth control is not accepted to her too (I think she was a chatholic too).. so ok, you win this time too.
    But let me know about the noisiness :p If they have arab blood they must drive you crazy .. thats a rule 😀

  26. Jeff says:

    “birth control is not accepted”

    ARTIFICIAL birth control. Natural spacing is okay. You know that women can learn the signs of when you can and when you can’t get preganant? It’s easy and we use it when we WANT to get pregnant, too! But of course a lot of Catholics don’t act like they should, just like other people.

    Yes, you’re right, the kids are noisy! 😀 Is that the Arab blood? They’re also very sweet; maybe that’s the Arab blood, too! 🙂

    I’ll give you a full report when I return! Or if I get a computer and time, maybe while I’m there. “Help, Princess, save me, these kids are driving me crazy!”

  27. Jeff says:

    It’s 1 o’clock in the morning where you are and I hope you’re sleeping soundly and not lying awake thinking of sad poetry!

    It’s only 5 o’clock in the afternoon here, of course and in an hour, I’ll leave. So, in case we don’t talk for a while, I’ll just put this message here to cheer you up when you look on the blog.

    Probably you are sick of all my blabbering comments by now! But since I might not be back for a few days, I’ll take the risk!

    Have a nice day and a nice weekend!

    🙂

    ~Yr. friend,
    Jeff

  28. Arabian Princess says:

    Its morning here now, and I am fully awake to start working *I wish I had one more hour to sleep :p”

    Not at all, I am enjoying it very much .. its really intresting to see your comments here 🙂

    Enjoy your time, and I am waiting for the full report!!

  29. Jeff says:

    Well, I got back early.

    I’ll tell you what happened.

    On Saturday night it started to snow. And it snowed. And it snowed. And it SNOWED. All night. More than a FOOT DEEP. Almost two feet. Higher than UmQusai’s knees! And it was still snowing all morning. Until it looked like this:

    http://news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&u=/060212/480/njmd10402122007
    (cut and paste the link)

    And when we woke up at 6 in the morning…all the electricity was OFF. No lights. No heat. No hot water. And all the roads blocked, so no way to get out. TRAPPED in the dark, cold house with six kids!

    Then trying to keep them in the house because if you open the door the cold air comes in and you can’t heat it again! And they want to go out and PLAY! Finally we made a fire in the fireplace–that makes the rest of the house colder because it pulls the warmth from the house and up the chimney but there’s someplace to come to get warm–if you sit in front of the fire.

    So then they could go outside and play in the snow. Except the four year old, who GOT SICK and lost his dinner in the toilet four times last night. He had to stay in. But even when he gets sick, he still wants to eat! Then he just gets sick again, of course.

    And then the eight-year old girl is furious because the four-year-old got her candy and it takes an hour to calm her down. Oh, yes, and the thirteen-year-old boy is trying to watch things on the computer he shouldn’t be watching. And the fifteen-year-old girl is staying in bed because SHE is sick. (She’s a very good driver though, I was surprised!)

    Well, when Mom and Dad heard about the snow and called and found out the electricity was out, they decided to come home early. In that time, the trucks came by and plowed the snow off all the roads and put salt on them to keep it melted, so we could drive out. And we were lucky; our power and heat still work. But NO SCHOOL TOMORROW–too much snow!

    Just stay home and drink hot chocolate all the day!

    Really, the truth is those kids are really nice and really smart and worth all the trouble. The little ones had their ice skating lessons on Saturday morning and they are good–they don’t fall down too much on the ice!

  30. Jeff says:

    Well, the link was too long. If you want to see the picture, you can paste it together and put it in your address box:

    http://news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&u=/
    060212/480/njmd10402122007

    Just put the 0 right after the / with no space and it should come up.

  31. Arabian Princess says:

    at last!! I’ve been trying to post the past two days .. for certain reason there was some technical problems ..

    Woow snow, as much cool as it sounds I think I am not very comfortable with cold weather .. all what I want to do is sleep! but really the pics looks very nice 🙂

  32. Anonymous says:

    4- Do something that would make people remmber me, and pray for me ..

    You have achieved that one, whether you know it or not.

    mimo

  33. Arabian Princess says:

    I dont think I have accomplished anything yet .. or not as much as I am dreaming!

    Thanks for stopping by mimo, maybe you should tell jeff how EASY it is to learn arabic :p

  34. Reid Bradley says:

    i love these lists… i might have to do one myself.

Leave a Reply

