الأصمعي وأبو جعفر المنصور

Posted: May 18, 2006 in من هنا و هناك
صوت صفير البلبل

قصة الأصمعي وأبو جعفر المنصور

A poem written during the Abassyen era .. The story behind it is that Chaliph Abu Jafaar Al Mansur made a competetion, each poet have to come up with a poem that was never said before would get the weight of that poem in gold. The Caliph brought one of his servants who used to be good in memorising poems, so whenever a poet comes and presents a poem, the servant would repeat it and say it was said before.
Al Asmai wanted to beat that, so he made this famous poem of his which is hard to memorise and he wrote it in a marbel piller and managed to over smart the Caliph

The link above has the poem as a song I just love listening to it 🙂

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    It says, “Whistle of the pearl voted.”

    Here in America, pearls and whistles of the pearls can’t vote. Only men and women over the age of 18. Not even whistles of the men and women can vote!

    I guess they were very advanced in those times!

  2. Jeff says:

    The words in red in the poem seem to be written in a different style. There are long, straight lines between the letters.

    Is that a special way of writing for poems or what?

  3. Jeff says:

    Okay, I know this crazy kaffir is driving you nuts with his comments; I’ll make this the last one…

    But when I click the link to hear the music, all I hear is a bird chirping! Wa’ Allahi, that’s all I hear! Now, I admit I don’t know Arabic. But unless I am making a big mistake, it doesn’t sound like a bird chirping, does it? Even when you sing it, I think it doesn’t.

  4. Arabian Princess says:

    Jeff, dont ever worry about comments, I am happy when I find new 3 comments 🙂

    The poem’s name is : the Whistles of the bulbul (a bird that has very nice voice) but lool I know where the pearl came from, I know that we call those little glass balls bulbul!!

    Arabic Poems are written this way:

    word word wrod … word word worda
    word word word … word word worda

    the end of each line has to be the same as the previous one. and the lines have to have certain weightage to make it rythym. Its beatiful like a song, too bad its very hard to translate it the same way in english.

    and yah it starts with the whistling of a bird but if you continued listening to it you will heard the real arabic words 🙂

  5. Jeff says:

    I thought bulbul was nightingale. There’s a poem in English my mother used to love called “Abdul the Bulbul Amir.”

  6. Arabian Princess says:

    woow, whats this poem says?

    did you manage to listen to it?

  7. Jeff says:

    It’s a very silly poem or folk song about a great Russian soldier and a great Persian soldier (that one is Abdul Abulbul Amir) who manage to kill each other in a battle. It’s kind of a joke poem, really, not very good, but here it is if you want to look at it:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abdul_Abulbul_Amir

  8. Raed says:

    حاشى للأصمعي أن يقول قصيدة بهذه الركاكة , وقد قرأت بحثاً لأستاذ في اللغة العربية يفند هذه القصة المتداولة من الناحية التاريخية واللغوية.

    كما أنها لم تذكر في أي من كتب الأدب سوى كتاب واحد لا يحضرني إسمه.

  9. >>Sama Oman<< says:

    Excellent my sister.
    I like these kinds of stories and poems.
    !! Battle of brains !!
    He managed to beat the smart plan of caliph and finally he amazed him and made him with his servants speechless.
    And the nice thing about this story that Al Asmai wanted to give the caliph a lesson, so he will not laugh at poets and give them what they deserve.
    Thank u for sharing with us this lovely story 🙂

  10. >>Sama Oman<< says:

    رعد: ليش عااااااااااااااد..
    القصة حلوة و جميلة ، بس بصراحة ما قرأت كامل القصيدة ،،، ما خلصني ،،، هاهاهاهاهاهاهاها
    لكني اجد مثل هالقصص كثير و احب اقراءها ،،،،
    اذا عندك ما يثبت كلامك فأين هو الدليل الناصع القاطع في دعواك.
    صارت محاكمة.
    عموما انا حبيت القصة ، اما سالفة صحيحة او لا فما عندي خبر بالامر .
    اذا فيه لينك او صلة بالسالفة أعطينا اياها لنعرف الحقيقة.
    و ترا مو كل اللي بالنت من معلومات صحيحة ، و نحن قد نقع في الخطأ .
    تمام
    باااااااااااي

  11. Arabian Princess says:

    lool سما .. رائد ما رعد 🙂

  12. BaLqEeS says:

    🙂

  13. Jeff says:

    I was trying to find out a little more about Al Asmai and I found that he was a Basrawi!

    Stephen Vincent loved Basra and he took some beautiful pictures of it about a year ago, just before he was killed. They’re so beautiful, I think you might enjoy looking at them. Here they are:

    http://spencepublishing.typepad.com/.shared/image.html?/photos/uncategorized/farm_001_4.jpg

    http://spencepublishing.typepad.com/.shared/image.html?/photos/uncategorized/farm_005_1.jpg

    http://spencepublishing.typepad.com/.shared/image.html?/photos/uncategorized/farm_002_2.jpg

    http://spencepublishing.typepad.com/.shared/image.html?/photos/uncategorized/farm_004_2.jpg

    http://spencepublishing.typepad.com/.shared/image.html?/photos/uncategorized/basrastreet_3.jpg

    The third one is so beautiful, I can feel the light in my teeth!

  14. Nancy says:

    I loved the song in your first link! That was great.

  15. Arabian Princess says:

    Balqees,
    🙂

    Jeff, only the first picture showed up .. and Al Asmai was from Iraq (Basra is part of it). It was where one great arabian civilizations 🙂

    Nancy,
    Thanks 🙂

  16. >>Sama Oman<< says:

    لوووووووووووووول
    ام قصي
    ما اعرفه
    ظنيتة رعد مو رائد
    عااااااااااااد يسامحنا

    Jeff
    COOL PICS
    Thank U

  17. Jeff says:

    Princess:

    If you copy the link all the way over to the right and then paste it, it should work for all of them. It does for me, anyway…

    The third one is my favorite…

  18. Arabian Princess says:

    Ok its work now, and yes!!! The third one is really inspiring .. it has trees and water, yet it has a hint of sadness in it, as if its something from the past!

  19. Jeff says:

    I’m glad you liked it–and you found the exact thought and words to describe it.

    I wish you’d write a story in English! Even if you make a small mistake now and then, you can really use it as a tool to express yourself! Exciting!

  20. Anonymous says:

    hi arby. i love ur blog.excellent work.
    i saw ur template on caz’s blogspot, and i chose 1 for my own, but i dont know where to get the htmlcode from. can u help?

  21. Jeff says:

    I went back and took a look at this:

    “Alright .. at last I managed to have my own blog!!
    I dont know how often I am going to update this .. but would try to use it much.

    Alright then, would leave as it is for now .. and would think about how to use it .. maybe as a collection of my thoughts and stories ;)”

    Thoughts and stories…those were exactly what was needed! And there have been some great ones since then.

    It’s nice to go back and read through the archives of your favorite blogs sometimes… 🙂

  22. Jeff says:

    Another silent day…

    I hope you’re not working too hard, just going to weddings in Shati-Al Qurm or walking around in Riyam Park…

  23. Arabian Princess says:

    loool Jeff, you went back to the old silly posts :p

    well its both, work and weddings 🙂 today I am invited to a cousin wedding .. so would mean another silent day 🙂

    My cousin’s “American” friend is coming to Muscat, and I am responsibile showing them around, so I would for sure be visiting Riyam area 🙂

    You know alot about Oman ha 🙂

  24. Jeff says:

    What does “American” mean? Really American or just living here?

  25. Arabian Princess says:

    I just wanted to strss the fact that they are American to make you happy 🙂

    They are really American I guess, I did not meet them yet.

  26. Jeff says:

    Make me HAPPY?

    I’m JEALOUS! 😉

    Hope you have fun; I hope they’re the nice kind of American…

  27. Arabian Prince says:

    Woah!!
    The first thing that came to my mind when I followed the first link was “Maal Awaaaaaal!” =P
    That was great, it brought back memories of an old Arabic(subject) teacher of mine some 6-7 years ago and I recall him reciting a part of the poem and sort of daring us to come the next day with the whole poem.

    I enjoyed reading the story again too, although Raed managed to blow it all away :s

  28. alfaarooq1 says:

    Read Al-Quran it’s the best Book ever poems, poets and all kinds of writers can’t be compared to what is in the Holy Scriptures, the best of horror, the best of love stories, the best action etc… is all in one blessed Book.

    Anyway I’d like to share with you some of my work just search for (United Muslim Nations International) and you can have a look at all my topics. If you cant find it search here on wordpress for (Farook Mohammed aka Al-Faarooq)

Leave a Reply

